Chinese Fish Broth

Fish Broth

 

I visited the local fish monger the other day and their whole salmon was on offer.  I had the salmon filleted but didn’t want to waste anything so I thought I would make a Chinese fish broth with the scraps.  I love this broth, as it reminds me of my childhood in Hong Kong.  I normally add some tofu to it at the end of cooking.  I have made this in a pressure cooker this time as it is quicker.  So simple to make and so tasty.

Method

In a big pot, fried some chopped onions, ginger, garlic and lemon grass with your choice of oil for approx 5 – 10 mins.

Add chopped tomatoes and carrots to the pot and fried for further 5 mins.

Add the fish scraps (the head would be the best part if you can get it) and vegetable stock until everything is covered by the stock.

I have made this in a pressure cooker so it doesnt take as long to cook. If you are using a normal pot then I would say simmer on low heat for approx 45 – an hour.  Add tofu towards the end and serve with a sprinkle of salt, pepper and coriander.  Enjoy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

